14 years later…

21 Jul

14 years ago I lost one of the most amazing people that has ever entered my life, my first step-mom.

Lori Ann Flippin was only 27 years old when she lost her life trying to save someone’s else.

I was 8 years old. I remember this day so very clearly. My mom’s side of the family was at the lake and we were getting ready to go play on the shore when my mom got a call. I remember hearing my mom yell really loud, NO! I ran to the house to see what was going on. My mom looked at me like she has never looked at me before.

She sat me down at the table and she knelt to her knees. “I’m sorry Mallory but, Lori was killed this morning in a car accident.” I didn’t believe my mom. I asked what happened and she said that she was trying to help someone out and a car hit her. I bursted into tears, like I am now, and fell out of the chair crying. I told my mom that I wanted to leave right then and go back home.

That was the fastest that I have ever seen my family pack down our 1990 Aerostar van. That was also the first time in my life that I was allowed to ride in the front seat of the van.

It normally took us 3 hours to get home from the lake but this time it only took 2. We were FLYING!

We went to my dad’s house and there were cars all around. There were tons of people at the house. I ran inside to find my dad and when I found him we both just sat and cried for about an hour. People were bringing over lots of food and just telling us that they would be there for us.

My dad and I went outside and sat on the front porch that night and looked at the stars. We both talked about how Lori was in heaven now and how special she was to us.

Still to this day I think about all of the fun things that she taught me. Lori taught me how to tie my shoes, ride a bike and tease my hair! 🙂

I still miss her even thought it has been 14 years. I just hope that I am as good to my children as she was to me.

One Response to “14 years later…”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. BFF « To New Life… - July 22, 2010

    […] 22, 2010 by mallyeryn I know I wrote about this last year, it never gets […]

Leave a Reply

