taken off guard

19 Oct

Jesus loves you.

This was said to me this morning while I was workin at the bux. I handed the lady at the counter her coffee and commented on how cute her purse was and gave her the left over change. She then replied with “Thanks, have a great day and Jesus loves you.”

If you were the next person in line or a small fly on the wall you would have thought that I was spacing out. I was trying to remember if I really had heard someone tell me that Jesus loves me.

But WHY is this something that takes me off guard? Shouldn’t I be excited that someone wanted to bless me this morning? Yes, it did touch my heart and made me smile, after I realized what was said, but it is not the norm nowadays.

People usually don’t even say anything to me. Even after I tell them to have a great day or thanks for coming in.

hmmmm….

What is something that has taken you off guard?

2 Responses to “taken off guard”

  1. alece October 19, 2009 at 2:43 pm #

    that would surprise me too. because my ears just aren’t used to hearing it. especially in that context.

    one time when i sneezed, a stranger responded with “God bless.” it stuck out to me so much because so many–including myself–shorten it to “bless you”. and i loved that she changed it up.

    i’ve tried doing the same. it’s hard. it doesn’t roll off my tongue so easily. takes conscious thought. but i want to keep trying. because look at how it lingered with me… maybe it will linger with someone else.

  2. Batoinonrygog February 3, 2010 at 11:19 am #

    Thanx for the info.

Leave a Reply

