Childhood

25 Oct

My childhood has officially come to an end. My cat died.

For the longest time, I said that I wish I could be a child again. Playing outside until the street lights come on. Playing in the street, no really. Adventuring out into the woods behind my house where we would pretend we were in a magical land, kind of like Narnia. Having family story nights where we would read Little House on the Prairie. When Santa Claus was real. When the Tooth Fairy was real, now I secretly wish I would have caught on sooner and pulled out more teeth. Getting dirty and not even caring. Catching fireflies and frogs.

I had a great childhood. But one of my most favorite memories of childhood is when my sister and I would dress up our cat in doll clothes. We would then have a photo shoot and he would just lay there. Or when my sister and cat got in a fight together. Yeah, he thought that she was another cat. Or when we would have races around the house with the cat and a piece of string. Now, THAT was a fun time.

So now that Rudy, my beloved cat, is gone. I feel like my childhood is gone. I feel like now, I have to be an adult. I have to remember those things, but not live them.

What is something that you will miss about your childhood?

2 Responses to “Childhood”

  1. caitlin October 25, 2009 at 11:48 pm #

    that cat really lived a terrible life when i was little.

  2. alece October 28, 2009 at 7:05 pm #

    i’m so sorry about your cat.

    hmph.

Leave a Reply

