Heart Aches

20 Dec

Here lately, my heart has been aching for a country that I visited about a year and a half ago. A country that changed my life. A country that I cannot wait to visit again.

South Africa.

Today I went and saw Invictus. It is an excellent movie about the restoration of South Africa. I was very surprised.

I think what made this trip to the movies even more meaningful was that I went with four other people who have been to this beloved country. Even though I had just met three of them right before the movie, it was meaningful nonetheless. One of them was even wearing a Springbok shirt. :]

My heart aches to be back in South Africa. I want to know how Rosalina is doing. I want to sit and laugh with Tandega and Lerato and Mpho. I want to drink scorching hot tea with Gogo Judith. I want to see all of the beautiful smiling kids faces.

These people have changed my life. I miss them terribly.

I think about the impact that these people have left on my life. I know that they don’t know how much they have changed my life. I wonder if anyone has ever said this about me? I wonder if I am impacting peoples lives and changing them for the good?

Something to ponder….

What is your heart aching for?

3 Responses to “Heart Aches”

  1. hannahruthie December 20, 2009 at 7:24 pm #

    Well very recently my heart has been aching for the very same thing. I miss it so much.

  2. Matt moline December 20, 2009 at 11:54 pm #

    Sounds like a calling to me. wink wink. 😉

    • mallyeryn December 22, 2009 at 12:13 pm #

      Some day… I will return to Africa to liveeeeee there.

Leave a Reply

