Giving

21 Jan

Haiti. Before last week, I’m sure many people hadn’t heard of that small country in the Caribbean. But last week changed it all.

The devastation that has happened to this small poor country, is unbelievable. Today hearing about Haiti is almost unavoidable. It is all over the news, on my main page when I pull up my email, I heard about it at work, and I see updates on my twitter page.

I know that many organizations in the United States have contributed to bring relief in Haiti. I hear about one of those organizations at work, The Red Cross. If you didn’t know, you can give to the Red Cross at Starbucks. You can give cash or credit donations. Starbucks is also collecting coffee, toiletries, and other packets to send to the relief workers in Haiti.

Today while I was working, one of my regular customers came up to me and said that she wanted to give whatever was in this envelope that she had to the Red Cross. She said that she didn’t know how much was in the envelope. She said that last night at work, they had taken up a love offering specifically to give to the Red Cross because they wanted to help the people in Haiti. You might think, oh that is very nice but what is so significant about that….

She works at a homeless shelter.

These homeless men and women gave whatever they had to help those out who are also in need. They feel like they’ve been blessed with this shelter and feel as if they have a lot more than the people in Haiti have now.

WOW.

I ask that if you haven’t given to an organization to help bring relief to Haiti, please do. Like I mentioned before, you can give to the Red Cross at Starbucks, you can give money to World Vision, Compassion International and there are a lot more organizations that are bringing relief efforts to Haiti.

Just think about what you would want people to do if this earthquake were to happen to you.

One Response to “Giving”

  1. hannahruthie February 11, 2010 at 12:30 pm #

    Just wanted you to know that this hit me really hard. It makes me feel selfish for not doing more, but encourages me to see people literally giving everything they have to people who have even less.

Leave a Reply

