Living Abroad

10 Feb

Sendai, Japan.

This place is amazing. A dream come true really. For the first time in my life, I am living abroad. This is something that I have dreamed of since I was 10 years old. Living in my own apartment. Walking to work. Walking to the subway. Buying my own groceries.

Since I have arrived a week ago, I have only experienced culture shock once. I usually don’t have culture shock. I usually just change my way of thinking and avoid it. Not this time. On Saturday we were in downtown Sendai. We were walking through the subway station and I couldn’t see any other caucasian person around me. Only Japanese people and writing everywhere. This was kind of overwhelming. I thought about how I would find where I wanted to go and since I don’t know much Japanese, I had a freak out moment. There were people yelling, running with a purpose, walking, talking on cell phones, car horns honking, and the subway zooming past. This was just all too much to take in at once.

But the next day was kind of the same. My friends and I decided that we should venture out and go try one of the local restaurants near us. Bad idea, well kinda. 1. We couldn’t figure out how to get into the place. 2. We didn’t know what the man was saying to us. 3. We didn’t know what we were ordering or what they had. They had a lot of meat but we didn’t know what everything was, so we guessed. 4. I got beef and my friends got “chicken”. 5. It did not taste like chicken and it was cow stomach. 6. They ended up paying for the stomach and the beef that they got. Hilarious. 7. I paid for my $10.00 meal all in coins.

I am coming down with some sort of something. Not really sure what it is. I think maybe a chest cold. Be praying that I get over this since I am not sure how my health insurance and such works.

Here is a list of things that I have done since coming here:

* Grocery store adventure
* Started Training
* Wake up at 7 am every day… on my own.
* Cooked myself a real meal.
* Ate cow stomach
* Spent too much money on stuff for my apartment.
* Karaoke
* Walked to the subway station and back in a snow storm… about 5 miles round trip. :/

Ok well I hope to keep updated more often.

3 Responses to “Living Abroad”

  1. hannahruthie February 10, 2010 at 11:44 pm #

    Just so you know, I have been checking your blog so often for weeks! Glad you finally updated!! I love that you ate cow stomach. Hilarious/disgusting!! And I am SOOO glad that you are living your dream. What a blessing it is to see where God has brought you. And I remember your frustration when you couldn’t get a job at first, but that’s only because God had something so much better planned for you. He knew your heart and had/has great plans for you. I’m so excited for you to start teaching and have more adventures!

  2. alece February 11, 2010 at 12:48 pm #

    you are a brave woman.

    • mallyeryn February 13, 2010 at 7:12 pm #

      You think that I am brave?! You moved to Africa when you were 19! THAT is brave!

Leave a Reply

