Rough Seas

1 Mar

Moving to Japan has been something that I have always wanted to do… well ever since I was 10 years old.

Moving here has been one of the best decisions that I have ever made in my life. I love it. I think for the first time I feel at home and at peace with God in this situation. It wasn’t until Friday night that I knew Satan was trying to make me doubt this.

My grandmother passed away.

She had such a loving spirit and was always making something and/or painting something.

The thing that really got my spirits down was that I would not be able to go to her funeral. I would not be there to grieve over her death with the rest of my family. Instead, I will be here, in Japan, by myself. I know that the friends that I have made are in my life for a reason. They are here to encourage me and keep me going when I don’t feel like doing anything. They are here to listen to my stories about her. They are here to be my family away from home.

This weekend we went to the cabin and it could have not been planned more perfectly. I was able to go away and get my mind off of the sadness. I was able to laugh, experience Japanese culture (eating octopus and whale) and see a tsunami…. even if it was only 10 centimeters. :] I still saw and lived through one.

God amazes me in how He orchestrates my life. And I love Him even more so for that.

2 Responses to “Rough Seas”

  1. hannahruthie March 1, 2010 at 1:25 pm #

    I’m sorry Mal. I wish I could be a better/geographically closer friend in this hard time.
    It’s so good to hear though that you recognize Satan’s attack. So often we don’t recognize that it is Satan and then we let hard stuff get the best of us. God will comfort you in time. Cling to his promise of peace and comfort.
    And what a fun weekend! Whale…? you’re so brave! And you got to see the Pacific Ocean! and a tsunami! What great things God has in store for you!
    Love you and praying for you!

  2. alece March 1, 2010 at 10:48 pm #

    i know it’s so hard to be away from home at times like this. sending a hug from here.

    (and i’m a little grossed out by the fact that you ate whale…)

Leave a Reply

