Earthquake!!

13 Mar

Well since I have not posted in a really long time… aka 10 days, I need to update you all on what has happened in my life here in Japan.

This past week I celebrated my birthday. It was a fun time of celebration but also kind of weird since I was not around my family. But, I had a fun time. My friend Logan, her birthday was the day after mine.

Since Logan and I and two other people all celebrate our birthdays in March, we went out/reserved an entire restaurant for our party on Friday. It was the best party ever!!! I had so much fun! Hamburgers, pizza, little sausages, salad, and french fries. HOLLA. It was good.

Logan and I also wanted to go out on Saturday night as well. We went to this place that had udon noodles. This was another game of charades. Trying to ask the girl what was the meat in the rice. We finally found out that it was chicken. We had a nice little meal. Then we decided to treat ourselves to Starbucks.

We sat in Starbucks for a good hour or so. We were doing some people watching. (It is even better here since they don’t know what we are saying. :] ) In the midst of people watching we were watching these guys but up some plastic wrap or something. Then there was a shaking noise/motion. I thought that the guy had dropped the huge roll of plastic wrap.

I was wrong.

Then the windows started shaking violently and everyone in Starbucks stop talking. It shook for about a good 45 seconds. I know that that does not sound like a very long time, but when the whole building and every where around you is moving, it is pretty scary/ cool. hehe.

The wind was blowing so hard too so it made it even more like a scary movie.

When we got back to my apartment, we found out that it was a 5.4 earthquake. Where I live it was only 4.

So, in the 5 almost 6 weeks that I have lived here, I have experienced a Tsunami and an Earthquake.

It is weird that I am already looking forward to my next earthquake?

2 Responses to “Earthquake!!”

  1. Uncle Wayne and fam March 14, 2010 at 9:24 am #

    Well that is some worldly experiences you have had there. Thanks for the update. We think of you often and send love and hugs from home

  2. hannahruthie March 15, 2010 at 10:06 pm #

    Yes it is very weird that you’re looking forward to it! But then again, we get earthquakes like once every 5-10 years here so it’s a big deal, even if it’s only a 3.0.

    Natural disaster type experiences… it’s funny that you’re looking forward to them, and yet in Missouri I bet you HATED tornado warnings or flooding, or whatever they get in MO.

    Oh, and I’m glad you’re safe. That sounds so frightening!

Leave a Reply

