Normal

9 Jun

Four months ago I moved to Japan.

Four months ago I’m sure I thought that the Japanese were crazy.

Now, it is all normal. I think that I might even be turning Japanese.

Daily things in my life that seem normal:

* Forgetting to lock my apartment door. It is ok because it is safe here in Japan.

* Cooking with Chopsticks rather than a fork.

* Heated toilet seat.

* Washing my hands in the sink on the back of my toilet.

* Taking off my shoes when I enter my apt or my classroom..

* Almost getting hit by a car when I ride my bike.

* Not knowing what they are saying to me.

* DDR playing in the apt above me at exactly 9:05 every morning.

* Being illiterate

* Skyping with my family and bffs.

* Planning vacations to all points of the world.

* Showering without a shower curtain.

These are just a few of the things that are “normal” to me now. It is quite interesting how I become “used” to things. With that being said… I would like some visitors to come visit so they can see what I am talking about. :]

3 Responses to “Normal”

  1. stephjoyce June 9, 2010 at 8:03 pm #

    if I win the lotto, I am so there!

  2. hannahruthie June 10, 2010 at 12:42 am #

    I like “showering without a shower curtain.” Oh the luxuries of a whole shower room! and your own apt!

  3. Robin Leavy June 13, 2010 at 12:22 pm #

    It’s fun to read this Mallory! Yes, you do grow accustomed to the life God gives you. I’m sure this experience will forever change you and make you even more compassionate to foreigners in our own country.

    We will come and visit…as long as the bank sees fit to give me a wonderful bonus next February! 🙂

Leave a Reply

