BFF

22 Jul

I know I wrote about this last year, it never gets easier.

15 years ago today, I lost my first best friend, my stepmom Lori.

She was such a wonderful person. She taught me how to tie my shoes and how to ride a bike. I think about her more often now that I live in Japan and ride my bike all the time. I think about if she would be riding with me and we could be going to the store. Or what she would think about me living in Japan. Would she worry about me? Would she think it was wonderful and want to come visit? Would she be proud of me?

The older I get, the more and more I miss her. Even though I have spent most of my life without her in it. It just makes me sad because she is forever etched into my mind as my first best friend.

Today was a day that I wish I could call her on Skype and tell her how my friend and I successfully ordered a pizza and had it delivered to her apartment. Or how Summer Camp is coming up and how I cannot wait to hang out with my kids again. Or how excited I am to go to Australia.

15 years is a long time to be without your first bff.

Lori Ann Flippin, I miss you so much and I cannot wait to see you in heaven one day and praise our Heavenly Father together.

Love,
Mallory

One Response to “BFF”

  1. hannahruthie July 22, 2010 at 11:40 am #

    Oh friend, I wish I could hug you today and I wish that we could just sit around and you could tell me more stories about Lori. Whenever you do, I wish that I could have known her. She sounds like such a beautiful woman.

Leave a Reply

