Grow up?

24 Sep

Many of us were asked this question when we were younger:

What do you want to be when you grow up?

Now that I have “grown up” and I have graduated college I still honestly have no idea what I want to do with my life.

I have all of these crazy ideas running through my mind. Do I want to be a teacher? Do I want to be a nanny? Do I want to go back to school? Do I want to be married? Do I want to be a mother?

What in the world DO I want to be?

I think that the question we should ask children is:

What do you want to do with your life?

I can answer this question.

I want to impact others lives with the Gospel. I want to tell them about Christ. I want to do what the Lord has planned for me. I want to be his humble servant who is willing to go anywhere and everywhere He asks me to go.

Living in Japan has opened my eyes to how much people need Christ. They need Him. And they need him BADLY.

Japan is full of materialism. They are trying more than just to keep up with the Jones’ err.. Sato’s. They are trying to do everything in their own power to make themselves look presentable and it is all over the top. Everything.

Going to temples to see people toss their coins in as loudly as possible and pray a short meaningless prayer and then go and pay money to get a fortune is so sad. They are only doing this because other people do it. They don’t do this because it is something that they have a passion for. It is just “accepted” and a part of their culture.

I hope that people don’t just go to church because it is routine or a part of the American culture. I hope they go because it is something that they want to actively be a part in. Something that they want to do.

So now the question is…

What do you want to do with your life?

One Response to “Grow up?”

  1. Katie September 25, 2010 at 4:22 pm #

    I’m with you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

