Homeless

29 Sep

Every time I see a homeless person, I always think: are they Jesus?

When I was in Tokyo coming back from my vacation to Australia, my friend and I were approached by two homeless men.

They were speaking Japanese and we of course were speaking English.

The first man who approached us knew what he was doing. We were the only foreigners all around.

The smell that was coming off of this man was unbearable. I could not believe that smell was coming from a human being.

We didn’t know what to do. We were trying to talk to him but he kept talking in Japanese. Finally he went away.

After he left, I turned to Jessica and I looked at her and asked her if we did the right thing? Should we have offered him our drinks? Was that our opportunity to show the love of Christ? We didn’t know what to do.

About 30 minutes later another man sat down next to me. I could feel him looking at me and staring at me. Finally after sitting down for 10 or so minutes he came to talk to us. He was asking us if we were Italian and I said no and that we speak English. (I said it in Japanese.) Then he asked if we were English, Swedish and so on. This time I offered him my tea that I was drinking. He didn’t want it. Jessica and I stopped talking to him so he would go away.

As we were getting on our bullet train the first man found us again and was following my friend Jessica around.

We quickly headed through the gates.

This moment in my life, I will always remember. I don’t know if it is because I have never felt more like a jerk or more out-of-place in my life.

What would you have done?

One Response to “Homeless”

  1. hannahruthie September 29, 2010 at 10:55 am #

    I wish I could say that I would have done something different, but I probably would have done the same thing. And I probably would have regretted it just the same.

    Why is it so hard for us to give. We’re afraid of getting ripped off or of our gift being used for the wrong reasons, but it was never for us to judge their motives in the first place. It is only our place to give, give, give. And pray for them. If we have something to give, Jesus tells us to give, not to determine what it will be used for. If we see a need that we can help, we should.

Leave a Reply

