Habits

24 Oct

I have been away for awhile.

I haven’t been blogging as much as I would like. I haven’t been doing much of anything lately. I haven’t felt like myself.

I feel like I am just existing.

I.HATE.THIS.

I want to be the vibrant person that I was when I lived in America. I want to feel like myself again. But, do I know what being myself actually feels like?

I have changed a lot over the past 8 almost 9 months of living in Japan. Most are good and a few are bad.

I am currently at a point of frustration. I want to form all of these good habits and break all of the crappy ones that I currently have.

About 2 weeks ago I started brushing my teeth and washing my face EVERY NIGHT. I know that this may disgust some of you, well most, but oh well. I don’t care. This was one of the first steps towards bettering my life and health.

I am known at breaking habits. I form them and then one day… BAM… fell off of the bandwagon and it is SO hard to get back on. I feel like I am miles behind.

Here are a few other habits that I would like to form:

1. Jesus time EVERY DAY. Not just when I feel like it or every once in a while. But hanging with Jesus every day.

2. Keeping up with the brushing teeth/ face washing AND throw in flossing. O.0

3. Lose some weight. I feel like the weight should just be falling off of me because I live in one of the skinniest nations in the world. But uh… no. I feel like people are going to be disgusted when they see me because I haven’t lost TONS of weight since moving here.

4. Get better at blogging. I am trying to become better at it but like I said… bad at breaking habits.

5. Study Japanese. Even though I am going to be here for just a few more months, I feel like I should still try hard to learn so I can communicate; AND to impress the parental unit when they come to visit in February. :]

6. Learn to cook a decent meal. I am a terrible cook. You can ask anyone that has ever known me. I just want to get one meal under my belt so I can HOPEFULLY impress some boy one day with my mad cooking skills. HA!

7. Have a life. Life here in Japan is so routine. I am TOTALLY not a routine person. Maybe that is why I am so good a breaking habits.

Okay so this is a little lengthy. But, if you read all of my ranting. Thanks.

Also, if you have any ideas on how to help me out, that would be great!

 

4 Responses to “Habits”

  1. Becky October 24, 2010 at 10:08 pm #

    Keep with it girl. I know the feeling of not feeling like yourself over there! There’s a habit of routine and then somewhere down that road you realize you aren’t exactly who you were, who you know you ARE, and you feel like you’re just breathing and that’s about it. But I think the most important part is realizing it, and then going from there. I’m in the exact same boat right now, and I feel like it’s a big lake to paddle around. But I know it’ll make me stronger.. since there’s so much rowing involved!!
    Okay how I made up a boat and rowing analogy, I’m not sure.. buuut yeah 🙂

  2. hannahruthie October 25, 2010 at 3:09 am #

    I have ALWAYS been bad at keeping routines. I am the exact same… I get a good idea and have good intentions, but after the first day — WHOOSH. gone. vanished. I say, start small. Don’t try to do it all at once because that much routine is HARD. Maybe start with the Jesus time… then when you have that for a couple weeks, add in running to get healthy or Japanese since you’re not going to be in Japan much longer. Since you already have the brushing/face washing, just keep doing that one.

  3. Robin Leavy October 26, 2010 at 10:38 am #

    The most important habit….the Jesus time. It will help you with all the rest, really! And if you fall off then just get back on as soon as you can. Do that enough times and you will soon learn how to keep a good habit.

    And when you are home at Christmas I know someone who could teach you how to cook a really good meal! 🙂

    I am actually surprised to read this as I think you have great “stick-to-it”-ness. I mean wow, you graduated college in 4 years and got your dream job! I’m proud of you always.

  4. josuemartinezv October 28, 2010 at 11:57 am #

    I believe the best habit one could have is JESUS TIME. I agree with you in having it like the first goal!

Leave a Reply

