Snapshot Saturday

6 Nov

I always love going to new countries and finding funny things that are totally opposite of America.

Like at work, there is no problem with copyright laws. You just sick a piece of paper over that and then photo copy it and pass it out for your children to use. Voila!

The other day I was walking through a drug store, it was kind of like Wal-greens, and I happened to find some movies. I was then reminded that they would not play in my computer or on a DVD player unless I bought one here. AKA too much work.

Then I looked a little closer and this is what I saw…

Yes, that is a photocopied version of Disney’s Cinderella and Peter Pan. Except… it is a burned version AND you can get it for 350 yen. AKA about $5.00.

I find it quite hilarious because it most countries, this would be in the back alley. But here in Japan, it is just in your local drug store.

It’s Japan.

6 Responses to “Snapshot Saturday”

  1. sarahjking November 6, 2010 at 3:19 pm #

    I have that copy of Peter Pan…I also have “Singing in the Rain!” Takes forever to find the English menu on those things…

    • Becky November 8, 2010 at 10:25 am #

      Was that the peter pan that we got at the Cabin?!

  2. josuemartinezv November 7, 2010 at 1:26 pm #

    This is funny. I guess it’s kind of normal to me because in CR things are quite similar, even though it’s ilegal, you can easily find whatever DVD copy you want in the streets.

  3. hannahruthie November 7, 2010 at 2:32 pm #

    that is so funny. there’s so much you can do at drugstores in Japan… like sending luggage. haha

  4. Becky November 8, 2010 at 10:26 am #

    The awesomeness of whiteout and paper strips to cover up that silly copy right symbol!

    • mallyeryn November 12, 2010 at 11:10 pm #

      Today I copied an entire board game. I taped it all together and laminated it. Being forced to sin. lol

Leave a Reply

