Death

12 Nov

This is something that all of us must face one day.

We must die.

It is something that we know that HAS to happen in our life.

The only thing is, what happens after we die?

I believe that I will go to Heaven and worship the Lord with the angels and everyone else who has gone before me. It is going to be amazing time and I seriously think about it almost every day. I think about how bright and heavenly it will be. I honestly have no words to describe heaven.

That is what I believe, along with many more people.

But here in Japan, they believe something else.

They believe that when you die, you become a god. Your family worships you. They pray to you so that you can be the deliver of their prayers to God. It is unlike anything that I have ever encountered.

When you die, you are cremated. You have no choice.

After they cremate you, they have to pick out your bones from the ash. They do this with chopsticks. This is the ONLY time that you are allowed to pass something chopstick to chopstick. Your family passes around your bones and say a prayer to you.

After about 100 days, your ashes and bones are buried in a small little box in the cemetery.

Why am I talking about death?

Well one of my high school girls, her mom passed away last Saturday. This was very unexpected.

As her teacher, I felt like I should go over to her house. I greeted her at the door and in the family room I could see the altar set up and someone was praying to her mother. I honestly had no idea what to say to her. I mean, what DO I say?

I told her that I was so sorry and that I wanted her to know that I love her.

I wish that I could say that she knows the Lord, but I cannot say that.

I hope one day that I will.

2 Responses to “Death”

  1. hannahruthie November 13, 2010 at 3:23 am #

    This is an incredibly personal thing that you got to be a part of. Even though it was probably awkward or weird for you to be there, it is a reminder that God has you in Japan for a purpose. It also reminds me of Anita. I can’t remember if you were in that group or not, but I know that God has a purpose in having some of our team with her family too. God has plans for you, “for such a time as this.”

    Right now, it seems that loving this girl is the only thing you can do, but because you were there for her and told her that you love her, you will have more opportunities to continue to love her. And you loving her shows her Christ’s love even if she doesn’t recognize it right now.

  2. josuemartinezv November 14, 2010 at 9:39 am #

    This is so hard. I feel sad to know there are millions of people going through this kind of situations without knowing the love of the LORD in their lives. But I’m glad you’re there to show it as much as you can.

Leave a Reply

