Delight

1 Jan

Last year a few of my friends decided to choose one word that they would try to live by for the year.

This year I am choosing delight.

According to thesaurus.com, delight means this:

Definition: enjoyment, happiness

I want to live those words out.

My life verse is Psalm 37:4 Delight yourself in the Lord and he will give you the desires of your heart.”

I feel like it is only fitting that I decide to choose delight as my word of choice for 2011.

Many things will be happening this year. I will be moving home from Japan, I will (hopefully) get a teaching job in Missouri (or Kansas), and I will watch my best friend get married.

I know that there will be times when I will not want to remember delight. But, I must.

Times when I am lonely, have no job, or I am not yet getting married; I will have to choose to be delight(ful).

Happy New Year to you all! I hope that you all have a delight(ful) year!

3 Responses to “Delight”

  1. Alece January 3, 2011 at 4:28 am #

    the word “delight” sounds like a smile to me. (if ever a word could sound like a facial expression…) it overflows joy. seems like a very fitting word for you, mal. i love it!

  2. Prudence January 9, 2011 at 5:38 am #

    I love how this is already working in your life. Just last night I was reading this book called Gracenomics. The author was talking about this guy who documented every day one awesome thing. Everything from your shoes being tight enough that they don’t fall off but loose enough to slip them off untied to when your guests do the dishes even after you told them not to.

    Makes me think of you and your lost key.

    This year my word is grace.

  3. Sharkbait January 11, 2011 at 2:29 am #

    Delight.

    Nice. I was just reading and pondering on that verse this weekend, so it was a real word in season to see that you had chosen it as your word.

    <

Leave a Reply

