Life Cycle

18 Jan

When I was home for Christmas, the things that my friends and I talked about were not the things that we had talked about just a few years ago.

We were talking about recipes, babies and jobs.

A few years ago we were talking about homework, boyfriends and weddings.

Six years ago we were talking about homework, crushes and jobs.

This morning while sitting in my bed, I realized that my life is not the “normal” life that most people have. I feel like I am still on the six years ago topics. Talking about who I might like and my job.

Sometimes I feel like my life is not running on the same track that everyone else’s lives are running on. I look at my mom and how she was married and had a baby (me :]) at the age of 24. I look at some of my friends… they are married and thinking about having babies. Or they are going to be getting married at the age of 24.

What will I be doing?

Trying to find a job. Pay off loans. Living with my parents because they are so awesome and will let me stay for free.

With all of that to say:

Delight yourself in the Lord and He will give you the desires of your heart. Psalm 37:4

How do you think your life is different from the “norm”?

 

5 Responses to “Life Cycle”

  1. Delida Williams January 18, 2011 at 2:19 pm #

    Dear sweet Mallory, The reason you may not be at the same place in your life as some of your friends is because you are brave enough to have taken a different path. I wished I would have been more confident in myself to have explored the world as you have done. What great life experiences you have had! God has a plan for you and all will work out as it should. Love you sweetheart! Grandma would be so proud!!!

  2. Moe January 19, 2011 at 2:18 am #

    Hi Mallory. I stumbled upon your blog on the “OneWord2011” Daily.

    As I read this post, I start to think. We are not all “fashioned” to look in a specific way. We are not called to marry at X age and have children at X age.

    Think of your life as a white clean piece of paper. God has given us that much. He is good at making sure we stay within the margins and he will write his masterpiece in your life.

    The wonderful thing is: God’s story is different in each “paper” he writes.

    By the way, great word: Delight. “Delight yourself in the Lord and He will give you the desires of your heart” – Psalm 37:4

  3. hannahruthie January 19, 2011 at 8:54 am #

    Two things…

    I’m almost 21 and never been in a relationship.
    And I go to a university, but I don’t live in the dorms and I don’t have a group of friends here. I just take classes.

    I don’t like it either. I wish it could have gone smoothly, but then I think if it had gone like that, why would I have needed to trust God? And where would my faith be at? It really sucks sometimes, and I don’t always trust God with it, but a part of me (very deep inside) still knows it is be good.

  4. Dona Gonzales January 22, 2011 at 11:02 pm #

    Hi, Mallory! How are you doing? Well, I’m 17 and I’ve never had a boyfriend in my whole entire life. In my current school, first year high school students who are about 12 and 13 have had at least 2 boyfriends. When I was still living in St. Louis, I told my classmates in choir that I wanted my first kiss to be on my wedding day. Well, they were very, very surprised that girls like me still exist in this world.
    Needless to say, I’m not like the others girls. I’m not even one bit like my sister. But I rejoice in this fact because as Moe said, God’s story is different in each “paper” he writes. I’m so excited about what He has in store for me in the future. I can’t wait about what He will do in Your life too! God bless you!!!!!!!!!

  5. thuginmyveins January 25, 2011 at 12:19 pm #

    Can you tell I’m trying to get better about reading my friends’ blogs?

    Dude, I totally understand you. I was ASB president of my high school. I had a dozen teachers and administrators write me recommendation letters without me asking for them… and now, I have dropped out of not one, not two, not three, but FOUR colleges. I’ve spent my whole life dreaming of leaving Marysville, annnd, here I am… in Marysville still. Oh, and did I mention I’m unemployed? Because I didn’t get chosen to stay as an employee at a retail store. Did I mention that even though I have three years of management experience… it is very likely I am going to be working at the Marysville outlet mall… part time… for minimum wage.

    Meanwhile, one of my best friends calls me to ask if I will be the officiant at her wedding. And another best friend asks if I think she should go to grad school.

    And this all sucks so much and weighs so heavy on my heart… until I go through the list again and realize… I’m 23 years old and I have hundreds of fantastic stories. I’ve been to Africa. I’ve driven down route 66 with my best friend. I’ve taken dozens of epic naps in the grass. My life might look like a big pile of various societal failures… good! If there’s anything I really, desperately want to fail at, it’s being a part of society.

Leave a Reply

