One Year

2 Feb

One year ago today… well February 2nd in America… but not here in Japan….

I got up, made my bed and packed some last minute things.

I got on my computer to update my Facebook status to: I’M MOVING TO JAPAN TODAY. I said goodbye to Nathan (he was online) and closed my computer.

I got in the car and drove to the airport with my family. I had a one way ticket to Japan.

I walked through security and waited to board my plane. At the Kansas City airport, you can see people who are still outside security. So I waved goodbye to my family and got on the plane.

I was crying. I didn’t know what I was about to get myself into. I knew that I was going to miss my family. I knew that I would make friends in Japan. I knew that I already HAD friends in Japan. But the thought of moving to a country that is 6,000 miles away was really a scary thought.

One year later. I sit here in my apartment, drinking some coffee and am chatting with some of my best friends online. Friends that I miss dearly because when I go home to Missouri, they won’t be there. They live in other states. These girls know me. They have been there for me in this year long journey, and have heard all of the cute exciting things about living overseas as well as the not so glamorous things.

I guess in all of my time here in Japan I am thankful for these things:

1. Family- I love talking with my mom every Sunday morning. It always is a great way to the end of the week.

2. Friends- They are always there for me to rant and laugh with even 6,000 miles away.

3. Technology- It is seriously one of the best things ever. Without technology, I would not be able to communicate instantly with family and friends.

This isn’t exactly what I thought that my one year post would be, but I guess this is what it has become.

 

2 Responses to “One Year”

  1. hannahruthie February 2, 2011 at 3:15 pm #

    Amen! Praise God for technology!!!!!

    I can’t believe it’s been a year. And I can’t believe you only have 2 months left. AND I can’t believe you remember talking to Nathan… as in, my brother.. correct? How random. Wow. What a year.

    Love you, Mal. It’s been great to walk with you in this even though I am thousands of miles away.

  2. Nathan February 4, 2011 at 12:07 am #

    hehe! I remember talking to you too. That’s crazy. I honestly remember that exact conversation. Hooray for you coming home soon!

Leave a Reply

