4 weeks

8 Mar

4 weeks from today, I will be getting on a plane, hopefully, and going back to America.

I am not really that excited. Actually, the thought depresses me.

Returning to a country where the majority of the people have all of the materialistic things that they want, the food that they need to eat, and whatever religion that they want to participate in or make up.

Japan has all of that but there is something about the Japanese culture that has captured my heart. Is it their kindness, their hospitality, or how loving they are?

I have grown up with Japan surrounding my family and close on my heart. Some of my favorite memories as a child include getting a Japanese student every summer for three weeks. Going to the store and finding Pocky. Smelling the smell of Japan from a box that someone sent us. Getting e-mails from my Japanese family.

I just don’t know if I am ready to leave Japan.

But, it all comes down to this: Do I want to live in Japan or Africa? Where do I want to raise my children?

Africa.

Africa wins hands down every time.

So these are my current thoughts about returning to America, leaving Japan and the beginning of processing.

One Response to “4 weeks”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Heart Strings « To New Life - March 29, 2011

    […] the earthquake, I wrote a blog post about how I wasn’t excited about leaving […]

Leave a Reply

