Journaling

22 Mar

March 12, 2011

On this day we went and lined up for gas. We lined up for 3.5 hours to get 20 liters of gas. They were rationing already. They had a plan so that people would not run out of essential resources. If this happened in America or anywhere else in the world, there would not have been a nice line of cars on the side of the road waiting for gas. There would have been accidents or even riots. Japanese people are so kind and thoughtful.

We had a time of fellowship and the entire time the ground was shaking. I started crying because I was afraid for the first time. The Lord told me to not be afraid so there is nothing else to do but to listen to Him. I think that the reason why I was afraid is because I thought that I wasn’t going to get to see my family again and I was going to die in an earthquake here in Japan. They were still predicting a big earthquake after the major one we had just the day before. But, I listened to the Lord and He calmed my heart and fear.

I wanted to make a fire after fellowship so we got the stuff together. We came outside and were standing around the fire and then all of a sudden I turn around and the entire building behind me had power. PRAISE THE LORD. I had never been so excited to see lights.

The lights meant that I could heat up water in my electric pot. I could have heat in my apartment. I could plug the kerosene heater into the wall and have heat. Electricity is so amazing. I am so thankful for it.

March 13, 2011

On this day I went to the store to line up for food. I lined up with a few other people. I was told to just get whatever I could. I was in line for 3.5 hours as well. We thought that we could get as much food as we wanted but we ended up having to put food back. We were only able to get 12 vegetables. That was majorly sad.  We had a lot of people to feed.

On Sunday, Timothy’s dad came up to my school. He is the owner of a burger restaurant near the school. He donated all of the food in his store to our school. He said that it would be better for us to have it instead of his family.

Later on that day we had the opportunity to go over to the graphic design company that is affiliated with the school and take a shower. You better believe that I took a shower. It was THE coldest shower that I had ever taken in my life. My scalp was numb. BRRRRRRR.

When we were leaving the company, we were informed that we had the opportunity to go to Misawa Air Force base in Aomori. It is the northern part of Honshu, the island that I am on. I prayed about this opportunity and I called my mom and I told her that I was planning on staying. I felt that I needed to stay because I wanted to help out. Help out with the school and help out with the relief efforts that would take place around Sendai.

A lot of teachers decided that this was their time to go. They felt that it would be safer and they would be farther away from the nuclear situation in Fukushima. It was hard to see a lot of my friends go, not knowing when I would see them again.; if I would see them back in Sendai or sometime in America.

As I stayed behind, it has been great to get to know people who I wouldn’t normally hang out with. We have been doing a lot of sitting around but we are waiting for directions for what to do next.

____________________________________________________________________________

Well this is as far as I got to writing down daily accounts of what happened. Needless to say, I’m not a very good journal-er. I feel like I cannot remember all of the funny or awesome things that I was thankful for throughout the day. I seriously wish that I had someone to type my day-to-day accounts out in times like this. It would make publishing a book about my life much easier.

I am going to work on getting some blogs together about things that I used to take for granted before this natural disaster. Please bear with me if it takes a while to publish them all.

4 Responses to “Journaling”

  1. Lexi MacKinnon March 22, 2011 at 10:56 pm #

    Praying for you dear sister!!! Stay strong and keep doing the amazing work for God’s kingdom! You are so brave! ❤

  2. Holly March 22, 2011 at 11:07 pm #

    Mal,
    So glad you hear you are ok. I’m so glad you are living your dream. Be safe, if you do come home now, my wedding is June 4th and would love to have you there, if not be safe and we’ll see you when you come back.

  3. hannahruthie March 24, 2011 at 1:45 pm #

    “But, I listened to the Lord and He calmed my heart and fear.”

    So so good. You being calm and trusting in the Lord is helping me be calm and trust in Him too. It’s weird that it works that way since you are the one in Japan and I am just here worrying about you, but it has been such an encouragement to my faith to see you trust in God and give Him your life.

  4. Alece March 24, 2011 at 6:54 pm #

    I am so proud of you and your decision to stay. leading up to that decision, you had made a habit of seeking the Lord and quieting yourself to hear His response. I know you followed His whispers of peace in your heart. you are strong and brave and faith-filled. I love you, mal.

Leave a Reply

