Haircut

5 May

After living in Japan for 14 months, I decided that it is time that I should get my hair cut here IN Japan instead of Australia or America.

I had one of my Japanese friends call and make the appointment for me.

I walk into the salon and everyone says hello. I also sensed some anxiety since I am obviously a foreigner and they assume that I don’t know Japanese, which is correct.

A lady comes out and hands me this black bag. She says a bunch of stuff in Japanese and I just stare at her with this blank look on my face. I took my wallet out and motioned to put it into the bag. She was really excited that I understood somehow what to do. I think looked confused as to what to do with my actual bag. She took it and put it behind the counter and then motioned for me to sit down.

Apparently they don’t want you lugging your bag around so you just take out your wallet and cell phone. Smart idea.

So I’m sitting in the chair and my stylist comes over and has me fill out some paper and then asks me to move to the corner where there is a mirror and a chair. I move over and he tells me.. “consultation”. I wanted to die laughing. They want you to understand what you want done and how much it is going to cost. Trying to explain to him that I wanted my dead ends cut off was quite hilarious. Just picture me pointing to my hair and making a dead face and then scissor motions. HILARIOUS.

Well he washes my hair… AWESOME. It was like 20 minutes of hair washing.

Then I move to the chair and he asks me if a head massage is okay. Uh YES!! So he sprays my head with some cooling spray and then massages my head. Awesome.

He goes about cutting my hair and normally in America, this is when you would be talking away… haha. Well since I speak like no Japanese and he spoke very little English, I just sat in the chair.

He decides to dry my hair and then tells me he will cut my bangs afterwards. Smart, so they don’t shrink up. THEN… he pulls out the curling brush. White people hair here in Japan means play time for Japanese hair stylists. I seriously was feeling like a Barbie who was getting her hair done. It was so curly and poofy. A little outrageous. My friends always told me that this would happen, but for some reason… I didn’t believe them.

After it is all done with, he gave me my point card, since you can’t go anywhere here in Japan without getting a point card, and then walked me down the stairs and outside.

Over all… great experience. I guess if I would have gotten my hair dyed or permed, I would have gotten a cup of tea. Maybe next time.

4 Responses to “Haircut”

  1. hannahruthie May 6, 2011 at 12:04 am #

    hahahaha LOOOOOVE this. and it looks great!

  2. Delida Williams May 6, 2011 at 12:31 am #

    You absolutely crack me up! I love love reading your stories. Have I told you lately how amazing you are and how much I love you?!!!!

  3. Lexi MacKinnon May 6, 2011 at 3:50 am #

    That’s so fun! Glad you got to relax a bit and be pampered! Praying for your ministry and continued safety!

  4. Katy May 6, 2011 at 5:25 am #

    so fun!! =)

Leave a Reply

