Momma

8 May

Today is Mother’s day.

A day that I have never been good about remembering or I don’t know what to get my mom.

This year I feel extra blessed to call my mom MY mom. I feel like I owe her something big.

She has been with me through many things in my life. She has been cheering me on in many of life’s hard situations. Situations like staying in the middle of a natural disaster.

She told me to STAY in Japan and help out. When everyone else’s mom was telling them to come home and get away from the nuclear situation that had everyone in panic, my mom was calm. She had peace about me staying.

I think about this situation and how she gave me up and knew that I was risking my life staying here. And how I could possibly get radiation poisoning from the Fukushima plant if it had gotten worse. But she knew all of this because she had peace from God. She knew that I was risking my life for the sake of the Gospel. Staying here to show to my Japanese friends that I love Japan and that I wouldn’t run away when times were tough. By staying it shows them that I care. I care about them because I want them to come to know the peace that my mom has in Christ.

My mom is the best. I love spending time with her. I miss her dearly and I look forward to our weekly Skype chats. If they are only for 20 minutes or if they are for an hour and a half. I love laughing with her. I love sipping Irish tea with her. I love talking about funny moments.

My mom is one of my best friends.

I know that there will be more Mother’s Days to come and I won’t get to spend it with my mom. So, every time I get to talk to my mom via Skype or email, I soak it all in.

If you are able to spend time with your Mom on this Mother’s Day, love on your mom a little more just because I cannot physically be with my Mom on this special day.

One Response to “Momma”

  1. hannahruthie May 8, 2011 at 6:26 am #

    I will love my mom a lot for you. I love this because I have a very similar relationship with my mom. I love her so much and she is one of my closest friends. And I love that your mom encourages you so much in your faith and life. We got pretty lucky with our moms.

Leave a Reply

