One Word Update

15 Jun

This year I decided to choose to live by the word: Delight.

I just sit and laugh right now.

Back here I wrote about some things that I thought I would have to find delight in. In these “hard” times.

I wonder what the Lord thought about when I was writing that post. Thinking about trying to find delight in moving back to America, finding a new job, and feeling lonely.

If you have been reading my blog, you will obviously know that I didn’t move back to America and I didn’t have to find a job.

On March 11th, 2011 at 2:46 pm, the largest earthquake ever recorded in history changed all of my plans. I was in the middle of the biggest unknown in my life. I didn’t know what to do. I chose to be delightful to other people who were scared and afraid because of the unknown. I told myself that I would not freak out and to remain calm and be the ice breaker in this situation.

I wanted to be delightful. This was the time that I had to really live out my word. It was in my face and ready for me to grab it by the handles and go for a ride.

I never, ever, expected myself to be in the middle of one of the worst disasters ever. I was in shock, I still am, that the Lord would spare my life. That he placed me at a school that took care of me and made sure that my health and safety were at the top of the list. I could have easily been teaching at a school on the coast and been washed away by the tsunami. But, the Lord apparently has great plans for my life.

When I called home to talk to my family, I made sure that I was delightful and I was still my normal self. I didn’t want them to worry about me. I wanted them to know that I was safe and well taken care of. Yes, I did only eat two meals a day, but we had snacks in the afternoon and really… I was never really hungry.

When I talk to my Japanese friends in Tokyo, I still choose to be delightful. They ask me, “Why didn’t you leave? A lot of Americans left. Why didn’t you leave?” I told them that the Lord tells me to not have fear. My life is not my own and I am a servant of the Lord. I love the Japanese and I love Japan. I would not want to leave in a time when they need me most. I wanted to show the love of Christ first hand.

I often find myself thinking about my life if the earthquake wouldn’t have happened. I think that I would be lonely, sad, depressed. But I have to be honest, right now I am seriously the happiest that I have ever been in my life. I am not happy that the earthquake happened but I am happy that the Lord is good and he turns everything around to bring glory to himself.

I would have to say that my happiness, or my joy, does not come from my job, my friends or my church. It comes from the Lord. By delighting myself in the Lord, he has truly given me some of the desires of my heart. Right now, that is to be in Japan with the people I love.

 

8 Responses to “One Word Update”

  1. josuemartinezv June 15, 2011 at 9:50 pm #

    Wow Mallory, this is great. I’m sure your japanese friends at Tokyo have seen in iyou the real love of our God by you staying there to help.

    • mallyeryn June 15, 2011 at 10:17 pm #

      Thanks Josue! :]

  2. Lexi MacKinnon June 15, 2011 at 10:05 pm #

    Such a beautiful word… Praying for you!

    • mallyeryn June 15, 2011 at 10:17 pm #

      Thanks lady. I will be praying for your new adventure too. :]

  3. hannahruthie June 15, 2011 at 11:38 pm #

    This is wonderful, Mallory! It has been so good to watch the ways God has been working in you in the past few months and how he has captured your heart. It’s beautiful. I’m so proud of who you are and the woman God is refining in you. Love you so much!

    • becky June 15, 2011 at 11:47 pm #

      So happy you are at peace in Japan. God is at work in your life and the lives of the people you touch everyday. Love You!

      • mallyeryn June 16, 2011 at 7:57 am #

        Thanks Becky! Japan feels like home now.

    • mallyeryn June 16, 2011 at 7:57 am #

      :] Thanks bff.

Leave a Reply

