Heart Sister

8 Jul

Here lately, my heart has been missing its sister…

Hannah Ruthie.

Let me tell you a little bit about this amazing woman of God:

I felt like I have known her for forever, but in all reality, it has only been 3 years. We met when we both signed up to go on a mission trip to South Africa for the summer of 2008.

We experienced a lot of that trip. We grew a lot. We learned how to seek God in all circumstances. We grew close towards the end of the summer and always had late night chats in the Love Shack about all of the silly things that were happening.

When we parted ways in the Newark Airport, I knew that our friendship didn’t end there. I knew that we would be talking on Facebook and on Skype.

Our friendship grew stronger and stronger as time went on.

I went out to Washington to stay with her 2 times:

We had many adventures together in lovely Seattle.

Then she came to Missouri to see me:

We had more adventures around Missouri. I took her to Kansas and we went to the Renaissance festival, toured around Independence and ate lots of good food.

Then I moved to Japan. I didn’t know when the next time that I would see her would be. But, I knew that our friendship would just continue to grow. We talked on the computer or wrote each other letters. We talked, cried, prayed and laughed together.

Then, the Lord blessed me and I was in return able to bless Hannah and she came to JAPAN!

Words cannot describe how much I love this lady. I feel like I am able to tell her anything and she will not judge me. If I call her and just want to chat, she will sacrifice sleep to talk to me. When we talk on Skype, hours feel like minutes. We could talk all day long about nothing and I love it. She asks me how my heart is and she truly wants to know how it is. If I want to just be silly and dream, she will do it with me. We can dream up some pretty fantastic things too.

When I think of our friendship, I think of her as my Jonathan.

I think of this verse, “Now it came about when he had finished speaking to Saul, that the soul of Jonathan was knit to the soul of David and Jonathan loved him as himself.” 1 Samuel 18:1

I feel as if our souls are knit together so closely that nothing can break our friendship. We are BFFL (best friends for life).

Dearest Hannah Ruthie,

I love you and I am so thankful that the Lord has brought you into my life. I am encouraged by you daily and I pray that the Lord encourages you as well. I am so thankful that even though we have never experienced life on a day-to-day basis in the same city and we are thousands of miles apart, that our friendship continues to grow.

Love,
Mallory Eryn

3 Responses to “Heart Sister”

  1. Jenny Barker July 8, 2011 at 7:47 pm #

    This made me tear up a little bit. I’m so glad you have such a dear friend in Hannah! That is such a blessing from the Lord and it evidences His grace in your life. I wish I knew her and maybe one day we can all be great friends 🙂 Love you friend!!

  2. hannahruthie July 8, 2011 at 9:51 pm #

    Well it was a little hard to read this toward the end, especially around the Jonathan part, due to the streams of tears pouring from my eyes, but WOW. I am (I keep looking for the right word to put here, so I guess the right word is speechless). And I am amazed. God has truly blessed us with a special friendship. I can’t imagine life without our friendship, and even though we are 1000s of miles away, there is no one I feel closer to and can share anything with. Also, I can’t believe it’s only been 3 years! Because it sure does feel like a lifetime and I like thinking of it like that. Our souls are definitely knit together. No doubt. I LOVE YOU SO MUCH!!!!!!

    Ps: That picture of us in the airport is ridiculous. I am SOOOO sweaty and I kind of love that. It just reminds me how special our friendship is that we go through all the long flights and sweaty-ness and tiredness from all that traveling just to hug each other again. I can’t wait until the next time I get to hug you!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A place to go back to. | The Art of Losing - August 16, 2011

    […] She said it best herself when she said we are heart sisters. […]

Leave a Reply

