Home

1 Aug

As time grows closer to returning to America, my heart and brain are thinking about what I am going to say and do to respond to people.

A lot of people don’t understand why I am here in Japan for a second year. They don’t understand the love that I have for the Japanese. They don’t understand that my heart longs to see my Japanese friends come to know Christ.

When I was 15 years old, I felt the Lord telling me that I need to surrender my life to foreign missions. If this means telling people about Jesus for the first time or helping evangelize an area, I will do it. I know that I am not called to live the American dream in America. I don’t feel called to live in America. I don’t want to live in America.

I understand that people miss me and they want me to be close to them. But, to be very honest, I am tired of hearing “come home”.

I am home.

Home is Sendai, Miyagi, Japan.

So, if you feel like I should be in America, I want you to really pray about it. Pray that the Lord would help you understand why I am here in Japan. I will be praying that the Lord would be with you and that he would help you understand as well.

2 Responses to “Home”

  1. hannahruthie August 2, 2011 at 12:01 am #

    I so understand this. I have always felt like God wanted me to live outside the U.S. and away from the American Dream. That’s just not what life is about… at all. I love that you are trusting God and fully giving him your life, and letting him make Japan your home. I’ll be praying for you as you visit your family in America and that transitions will be good. I love you, Mal!

  2. Lexi MacKinnon August 2, 2011 at 11:44 am #

    Oh girl… I so love this! I will be praying for your heart and the people you you will in the US. It’s beautiful that Japan is now your home.

Leave a Reply

