10 Years

9 Sep

This time 10 years ago, I was discussing with my friend about my salvation. We were both wondering if we were really saved or of it was satan just making us doubt.

It was high attendance Sunday at my church. I had invited a lot of my friends to go to church with me. My friend, that I was talking about my salvation with, was there and she told me that she knew that she was a Christian. I on the other hand wasn’t so sure.

I was sitting on the blue couch in the youth room. My youth leader gave a great lesson on believing and trusting the Lord with all that we have. One of the youth helpers, Laura, got up to give the plan of salvation. She gave the prayer and everything. I prayed to the Lord with all that I had. I admitted that I am a sinner and that I am not perfect. I believe that Jesus is the son of God and he died on the cross for my sins. I then confessed that I wanted to make Jesus the Lord and Savior of my life.

It was at that moment, that I gave my life to Jesus. I knew that I was saved. The Lord had saved me from the depths of Hell and from eternal suffering.

It was September 9, 2001.

I felt funny because I didn’t know what to do even though I did know what to do. I didn’t want people to think that I was being a fake Christian or whatever. Well, during the altar call, I went up front. I told my pastor that morning in Sunday school, I gave my life to Christ. He was totally surprised. He didn’t know what to think. My mom was in the kitchen cooking a meal for all of us to eat after service. She came up and she didn’t know what to think either. It was a total shock to everyone.

Today, I am 10 years old in Jesus. It has been a rough 10 years, but the Lord is forever faithful and he has pulled me through lots of hard times. I know that it isn’t easy to be a Christian and things aren’t perfect, but this was THE most important day of my life.

I pray that if you aren’t a Christian and you have questions about what I am talking about, please feel free to email me or leave a comment.

Jesus is waiting for you to let him come into your life.

2 Responses to “10 Years”

  1. hannahruthie September 10, 2011 at 2:36 am #

    Happy birthday Mal! LOVE YOU!!!!

  2. HilGal September 11, 2011 at 3:44 pm #

    You seem to have a thing for birthdays and 9s…

Leave a Reply

