I need patience

19 Oct

As I dig into the word of God more and more, I am learning that I have less patience for the things of this world. Especially people who live double standard lives. People who are wanting to live for Christ but who are also gripped by the things of this world. I can see that they want to give their all to Christ but they are also not wanting to let go of the things that are comfortable.

The Bible talks about how this is very dangerous.

“I know your deeds, that you are neither cold nor hot; I wish that you were cold or hot. So because you are lukewarm, and neither hot not cold, I will spit you out of My mouth.” Revelation 3:15-16

Christ wants us to be all in or all out. He doesn’t want us to be half hearted about loving Him. He wants us to devote our lives, ALL of our lives, in every aspect to Him.

As my friend Robb said on Twitter today: There are days in ministry when you want to slap somebody in Jesus name – Chuck Lawless

That is exactly how I feel right now. I am trying to learn when to say things and when to have patience.

Is anyone else feeling this way?

4 Responses to “I need patience”

  1. Jenny Barker October 20, 2011 at 5:11 am #

    Gal. 6:1 dear friend….we are never above sin.

    • mallyeryn October 20, 2011 at 7:33 am #

      Thanks friend. This is what I am trying to do. I need patience first so I don’t rebuke them out of anger but more so out of love.

  2. hannahruthie October 20, 2011 at 6:42 am #

    Yes, yes, yes! I feel this way a lot. You are definitely not alone. It absolutely breaks my heart to see people say they believe in Jesus and not change anything about their lives. We will never be perfect, but I believe it is obvious when someone is convicted by Christ and lives their life for the glory of God and when someone believes God exists and does nothing. Keep on praying and being a light and seeking God. Love you!

  3. Lexi MacKinnon October 20, 2011 at 5:27 pm #

    HAHA LOVE THAT QUOTE…I feel ya sister!!! Nowadays I want to cut off my ears every time I hear wealthy Christians describe their luxury vacations or latest new technology buys. I just want to be like, “really?!? is that what our lives are supposed to be all about?!?”

Leave a Reply

