Desires

29 Oct

The other night my friend Christina and I went out for sushi. I have found my new sushi soul mate since my dear Maegan went back to America.

Christina and I could eat sushi probably 5 times a week if you let us. When we go to sit down, we immediately look at what is going by and just start taking plates off of the conveyor belt. Then, we realize that we have 5 plates each in front of us and that we should get to eating. This happens almost every.single.time. What can I say? We LOVE sushi.

Anyway… while we were nommin on some raw fish, I started talking about the desires of my heart. Telling her how I want to get married. How I want to become a mother. Then in my head I was thinking of all of the other desires of my heart. How I want to see my Japanese friends come to know Christ. How I want to see my family turn towards the Lord and love Him with every ounce of their heart.

I then asked her: Do you think that the Lord puts desires in our hearts if they aren’t meant to be made true? How I want to be married and be a mother. What if I die before it happens? Would the Lord give me those desires?

I know that I can die at any moment. I know it sounds morbid, but it is true. Every second, I am closer to going to heaven. Closer to seeing Jesus on His throne. Closer to seeing those streets of gold.

What do you think? Do you think that the Lord would put desires in our heart if they weren’t meant to be accomplished?

2 Responses to “Desires”

  1. Katy October 29, 2011 at 11:23 pm #

    I don’t know…sometimes though I think the desires cause us to draw closer to Him. They’re a reminder that He’s the only one that can fill us up. And sometimes they’re just fulfilled in a way different than we think…maybe the desire for babies is fulfilled in loving on kiddos. Regardless, I think it’s just resting and trusting in His plan and walking it out. =)

  2. Lexi MacKinnon November 3, 2011 at 9:33 am #

    I don’t know.. it’s something I wrestle with often. I have no idea the answer, but I do know that no matter what our God is a good God and is never seeking to torment or tease us. Praying for you chick! LOVE YOU!!

Leave a Reply

