Potato Roast

6 Nov

Here in Japan, they have a fall festival at school. They roast sweet potatoes.

It was AWESOME.

Here are some pictures to show you what we did.

Momiji Class lined up to watch the roasting.

Nara class lined up to watch the roasting.

Fuji class lined up to watch the roasting.

Getting the fire started. I thought that my glasses were going to melt off of my face.

The older kids throwing their potatoes into the fire.

Potatoes getting ready to roast. We covered these up with about 12 more layers of straw. It was insane.

Then after the potatoes were done, we had to dig them out of the fire. Here is my lovely friend and coworker, Carrie, holding up some of the potatoes.

Getting ready to eat my potato. Please observe how black my hands are as well. I even had gloves on.

Then after it was all finished, we had to water the fire. My friend Joshua, is doing just that.

This was a fun event and very Japanese. Just something to show what we do here in Japan for Fall.

I still miss carving pumpkins and all things pumpkin flavored as well.

One Response to “Potato Roast”

  1. Lexi MacKinnon November 7, 2011 at 6:37 am #

    I love seeing pictures of your life in Japan! Those kids are ADORABLE!!!!

Leave a Reply

