That little word

2 Jan

When I was in youth group we had lots of “team building” games on retreats and at camp. One of those games was the Trust Fall. Everyone lines up in two lines and links their arms together. Another person stands on a chair or a table and then literally falls back and has to trust that the people that they don’t know is going to catch them.

I always hated that game.

It is not that I don’t trust people, it just annoyed me. When people wouldn’t fall back and would chicken out.

But then I started thinking.

Isn’t that what I do with God? Don’t I “chicken out” at times? Do I really believe that he has everything in control?

Back in March 2011, when the big earthquake and tsunami hit Japan, I was given an opportunity to get out of Sendai. I chose not to. I asked God what He wanted me to do. I knew that the Lord would give me a quick answer because I only had 20 minutes to decide if I wanted to stay or if I wanted to go. I remember his answer: trust me.

YIKES. Okay… I will Lord, I will trust you. That also tied into my word of the year… delight.

So as 2012 is underway, I am choosing the word Trust.

The verse that I am going to focus on this year is Proverbs 3:5-6

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him and he will make your paths straight”

3 Responses to “That little word”

  1. Becky January 3, 2012 at 8:38 am #

    Trust is a great word!! I can’t believe it’s already been a year since your last “one word.”

  2. Tracee January 3, 2012 at 11:06 am #

    that word always scares me!! ahhhh!! trusting is so hard and the thorn in my side!! so glad you are taking the risk to conquer this word in your life! it is deep down in the soul kind a word. Ruthless trust is my fave book on trust!

    • mallyeryn January 3, 2012 at 11:19 am #

      It scares me too but I can’t let go of it. It has been in my face for a few months now. Now I just have to grab it by the horns and go for a ride. Yikes!

Leave a Reply

